canPayday.ca: Payday Loans in Canada Resources

Mogo.ca : Mogo Money Payday Loans and Prepaid Credit Cards

Mogo operates primarily as an online lending company pushing a prepaid credit card product to its customers for what it deems are lower fees than competing payday loan companies. The company is fairly new and operates with a reliance on the Visa credit card network to manage its product. The fee charged is $4 for every $200 borrowed for a 14-day period.

That said, Mogo can also provide quick-advance loans direct to a consumer bank account as well through electronic transfer. Loan products range from $100 to $1,700 per application, again with a fee of less than $4 per $200 borrowed. Mogo also adds on a credit score report benefit for free from TransUnion with each application for the MogoMoney card.

Applications are filed online and, when approved, money is transferred either to the company’s card or to a bank account. However, customers can even find Mogo products in specific store addresses as well.

To date as of November 2012, Mogo has not been included in any lender class action lawsuits worth mention.


Add your Review of Mogo Money

Share your compliments or Mogo Money complaints.

Would you use Mogo Money again?
Review your experience with Mogo Money:

Reader Reviews of Mogo Money


"No Problems"
from Calgary says:
Review:
I used Mogo about 4 years ago and I never have any problems with them , the was the first and only time I ever used a pay day loan
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
10/5/2014 12:48:06 AM
 

"No Help!"
from says:
Review:
They do not explain the process of the money lending and you end up paying through the nose in interest and it is impossible to pay off
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
10/4/2014 6:56:04 AM
 

"Threatening me"
from says:
Review:
Had a loan great. Never missed a payment to them for months awesome. Injure myself and am forced out of work temporarily and they are threatening to take me to court bogus. Crooks and bullies.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
9/20/2014 7:46:31 PM
 

"Call your Employer"
from Ottawa says:
Review:
Head's up folks unlike the other pay day loan people Mogo wants to call your employer - I have never had this and who wants them calling your boss - none of work's business what you do. They would not even take a current pay stub - that was a waste of time. Would rather pay the higher fees at Cash Money and Money Mart to keep my privacy. Unlike others though I did find the people friendly and helpful.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
7/10/2014 6:15:18 PM
 

"Not happy"
from Mount albert says:
Review:
I took a 500 dollar loan and the payments are 57 every two weeks... I found out that is just the interest on the 500 and not paying the principle down.. that's 114 a month just in interest ?..I feel ripped off..
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
7/4/2014 2:19:09 PM
 

"No Phone Manners"
from toronto says:
Review:
Okay at first, but terribly rude on the phone!!!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
6/27/2014 5:35:27 PM
 

"Never Again!"
from London says:
Review:
High interest and RUDE people. Never will ever use them again. Act like thieves, steal money out of your account that you never authorized and then act like your the problem. You try to talk nice to them and they call you names.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
6/25/2014 9:07:11 AM
 

"Pay them back"
from Edmonton says:
Review:
It's as simple as paying them back. They have the right idea. Know your limit. There is no point in taking any money from them if the amount owing is more than your pay check. Not sure why anyone would do that. They have been easy to deal with. They always come through for me. The only thing I found funny was that after I paid them back, I didn't re-loan. Two weeks later, they sent me a letter telling me I was pre-approved for a certain amount. I'm not re-loaning.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
5/23/2014 3:12:22 PM
 

"Good Product, Bad staff"
from winnipeg says:
Review:
It is a good product with inadequate staff. Having been current in all my payments for three years, I am made to feel as if every reloan application is the first time I am applying. The staff always put me through a two hour process and the customer experience is very frustrating if I don't deal with the same person. Something always changes from month to month. I will not be put through what it feels like a criminal check again. I would recommend MoneyMart for a convenient money lender.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
4/30/2014 5:23:03 PM
 

"No problems with Mogo"
from Edmonton says:
Review:
I have never had a problem with Mogo. Mind you I have always paid on time. I like the fact that they are a 30 day loan and not your standard 14 day loan. That being said, I find it easier to pay them off and not need the reloan.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
4/12/2014 10:09:52 AM
 

"Terrible Communication"
from Vancouver says:
Review:
They take large amounts of money from your bank account without your permission. They blame it on human error, but do not let the client know an error has been made on their part.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
4/12/2014 4:20:17 AM
 

"Watch your account!"
from Calgary says:
Review:
They take money out of your account without your authorization.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
4/11/2014 4:26:53 PM
 

"I regret using them!"
from Calgary says:
Review:
They are super agressive and unbelievably sneaky. I will never ever used this service.Lack of professionalism. Worst thing i ever did was getting involved with mogo in the first place.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
3/26/2014 5:36:09 PM
 

"Easy"
from Ottawa says:
Review:
Mogo ALWAYS comes thru when you need some quick cash.... I borrow what I need and then PAY IT BACK...... Thats the Key People!! PAY IT BACK!!!! I have bought many things when I wanted because of Mogo... They are fast and efficient and pleasant to deal with... No hassles,,no fuss no muss.... Cheers :)
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
3/21/2014 6:32:58 AM
 

"Pay it Back"
from Online says:
Review:
Reading all these reviews blows my head. I have never borrowed money from anything because personally I know I won't pay back on time and that's what people like this should do if you can't be on time then don't take it. I have work in this field and were very understanding but when the borrower breaks his promise and repeatedly breaks it then what other choice do we have to get the money. I mean if you don't pay a loan that's stealing and that's not tolerated.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
3/20/2014 3:44:12 PM
 

"Borrowed over $1000"
from Lethbridge says:
Review:
I borrowed around $1,200. each month they take $224 out of my bank account for interest a lone. My debit never goes down. I've been paying them for 8 mths or more. Do the math: 224x8= 1,792. and I still owe them the $1,200 OMG this is crazy!!!!! I would never ever ever ever borrow from them again. Also I agree with the other reviews-THEY ARE VERY RUDE WHEN YOU PHONE TO INQUIRE ABOUT ANY THING !!!!!!!!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
3/16/2014 11:46:57 PM
 

"They Bully"
from Toronto says:
Review:
Bullying tactics even while a payment has been made- will be filing a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Ottawa, Consumer Complaints division and the Better Business Bureau even though they are not an accredited company. They are not getting away with calling my employer and embarrassing me.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
3/16/2014 10:16:03 PM
 

"Site works poorly"
from Thunder bay says:
Review:
I am trying to apply but my application doesn't want go through I am having problems
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
3/6/2014 3:16:03 PM
 

"Treated poorly"
from Alberta says:
Review:
I just got off the phone with one of their "collectors" she sent me into a panic attack and it was the worse experience ever. She said I swore at her which i didn't, she raised her voice at me also several times I've been with them for six month months and have never missed a payment and then my husband loses his job and I'm stuck paying the rent and bills so my last payment was returned. I made a real good faith effort to make a payment plan that I could do and so they would get their money but all I get are threats to contact my employer (they did call them once already) and send my account to collections. I wasn't trying to skip out on the loan and made every effort to contact them and I was treated like I was a lying thief.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
1/21/2014 5:25:49 PM
 

"Easy"
from Vancouver says:
Review:
I applied online, it was quick and simple. Saw an earlier review saying his friends identity was not verified but for me my identity was verified against Equifax, I had to answer personal questions about myself that only I would know. After that I had to send in a bank statement but was able to use some tool the Mogo agent sent me that was quick and secure. Once that was done I was emailed some agreements, signed them electronically and was funded. Who process from app to getting money took less than an hour. I just made sure I followed the instructions they sent me.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
1/13/2014 11:06:10 AM
 

"Loan Interest is too high"
from Edmonton Ab says:
Review:
$500 interest a month on a loan for 1800.00 you call that reasonable? I call it highway robbery! I have never used this service nor would I ever! Nothing but loan sharks who threaten with emails and are verbally abusive when attempting to make a reasonable payment arrangement they are not satisfied so threaten to garnish wages! I understand wanting your money back but how about a little compassion for the those that borrowed and have fallen on hard times since borrowing..... This company is not a part of the BBB that should tell people right there something! Harassing and threatening customers via phone or email is illegal! If you need money that badly sell something borrow from a family or friend but for god sakes stay away from places like this! I am watching a family member struggle with their dilemma from borrowing from this company and it sickens me at how he is trying to work with them and all they can say is the payment arrangement he is attempting to make doesn't even cover the interest a month!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
1/9/2014 11:43:30 AM
 

"No Problem"
No Problem from Calgary says:
Review:
In Calgary, I borrowed money and due to circumstances beyond my control could not pay back when the loan was due. I called to have the payment delayed and was advised to stop payment from the banks side, once done an agent would call within a couple of days to make an arrangement. I stopped payment, and agent called. She was very understanding, I made a payment arrangement and she even waived the late payment fee for me. I have used them a few times and have never had a problem.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
11/20/2013 1:17:01 PM
 

"Be aware!"
from says:
Review:
Mogo does not verify identities ,when using online application, friend of mine had his used. All of it correct except email and phone number,consumers be aware!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
11/13/2013 7:31:23 PM
 

"Quick if you follow instructions"
from Ottawa says:
Review:
for all of you out there that think they can borrow money and not pay it back on the due date and then complain because they get 4 calls a day from mogo who is just looking for their money,,,well you people are what give a good business like this a bad reputation,,,,if you cant pay the money back on time without some stupid excuse then dont borrow the money...i have taken out about 5 mogo loans since january and EVERYONE of them was paid back in FULL on the DUE DATE...not 2 days later...or 5 days later...i paid it back when i was supposed to pay it back....stop thinking your entitled to money that you dont have to pay back when you are supposed to,,,grow up people!!! Mogo is a Great Company and I recommend it to anyone who needs a quick advance of money and can pay it back when they are supposed to....
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
9/14/2013 10:21:37 AM
 

"Not at all fast"
from Vancouver says:
Review:
The initial loan was nowhere near as fast as they advertise. No big deal though, it finally went through and everything was good. Then an error with my bank occurred, and while I'm still acting within the terms of the agreement I have been treated to daily multiple harassing phone calls, threatening e-mails, despite my attempts to correct the issue. If you are being harassed by Mogo staff don't talk to them on the phone. Correspond only by e-mail and when they become unreasonable (which they do right away), send all your correspondence to their main address 'apply(at symbol)mogo.com. Keep all copies and don't let them threaten you.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
9/10/2013 2:30:05 PM
 

"Horrible!"
from Winnipeg says:
Review:
Shady as can be. There was an error with my bank on a $60 payment and instead of working with me to figure out what the issue was their "Collection Manager" began to get aggressive, speak rudely and twist my words around. Finally this "Manager" had the audacity to ask me what I spent my money on! I told her it was none of her business and hung up on her. I certainly don't trust giving a company that employs human waste like that my bank account information. I do not recommend Mogo to anyone ever! Horrible tactics for a very small sum of money.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
9/9/2013 8:36:19 PM
 

"Impressed"
from says:
Review:
My initial contact with them was not good so I emailed them to complain. They resolved it for me quickly and I was impressed with their customer service response. I've since got one of their prepaid VISA's which is MUCH cheaper than the other loan sharks, er, payday loan companies and I've been very happy with that product.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
8/24/2013 8:29:08 PM
 

"Very Rude"
from Alberta says:
Review:
Extremely rude... I took out a loan with them and when it came back to me having to repay they have me the one option of going into a store... (They close at 7pm) I work till 9. I asked too pay over the phone and was told no( refused payment in my opinion) then the jerk that works there calls my phone 4 times a day and also calls my work... Leaves nasty emails and voicemail every day. Has now threat to escalate matter just wish he would hurry up already and send it to a collection agency so that I can be done with guy. Don't ever use them!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
7/24/2013 3:43:54 PM
 

"Happy"
from Timmins says:
Review:
They are amazing! Would go it again if needed to :)
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
7/5/2013 3:35:47 PM
 

"Employee comment"
from Winnipeg says:
Review:
Mogo employee here! To the recent comments about the slow service, can I ask if the experience was in a Mogo Store or over the phone/online? We have recently made some big improvements and have greatly sped up the service in which we help our valued customers and hope that you give us another chance to wow you! If there are more details you can provide me please just email apply@mogo.ca and direct your question to Justin. Thank you!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
7/2/2013 11:50:24 AM
 

"Can't believe how slow they are"
from Toronto, ON says:
Review:
Terrible service never use mogo money they take forever...
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
6/25/2013 4:16:06 PM
 

"Slow Service"
from Ottawa says:
Review:
Service has gotten so slow, they should have invested in more workers....have used the service for over a year but find it has become to frustrating and will switch to a more expensive but attentive company.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
6/24/2013 12:21:16 PM
 

"Mogo Employee"
from Vancouver says:
Review:
Hi all, I work for Mogo and we appreciate all of the feedback you have taken the time to post on here. Due to the overwhelming demand of Mogo right now we are experiencing very high phone wait times and slower than normal response times to email. We understand your time is valuable and appreciate your patience, we are working our way through all of the requests and will get to you soon. Remember with Mogo’s 30 day guarantee there is no risk in trying Mogo. Also remember to sign up for your free pre-paid Visa, with over 35 designs you will for sure find one that you like!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
6/17/2013 10:14:09 AM
 

"4 Days without Service"
from Not sure says:
Review:
Applied Sunday Night, it's now Wednesday, and I haven't heard back from anyone yet.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
6/5/2013 4:32:24 PM
 

"Bad Collections Agents"
from Surrey, BC says:
Review:
The most ignorant people I have ever dealt with! They don't care about there customers just the money you owe them. Theirs a certain collection agent who should be reported to the BBB or for that matter the police. Talk about verbal abuse, god help her husband!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
6/5/2013 1:30:18 AM
 

""
from BRITISH COLUMBIA says:
Review:
I WOULD LIKE TO RETRACT MY PREVIOUS REVIEW.... UNBELIEVABLE PEOPLE!!!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
5/30/2013 10:01:54 PM
 

"Mogo is Slow!"
from BC says:
Review:
I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW SLOW THEY ARE. OK TO USE FOR FINANCIAL REASONS MUCH BETTER THEN A PAYDAY LOAN BUT THEY ARE EXTREMELY SLOW AT PROCESSING IM JUST FINISHING EVERYTHING AND STILL WAITING FOR THE EMT EVEN THOUGH EVERYTHING HAS BEGUN YESTERDAY 1PM PST! ABSOLUTELY CRAZY FOR A COMPANY TRYING TO COMPETE. CHEAPER THEN OTHERS YES, BUT I THINK THE HEADACHE IS NOT WORTH THE FEW BUCKS! IF YOU ARE GETTING A LOAN YOU ARE MOST LIKELY IN A DESPERATE MOMENT AND EVERY SECOND IS PASSING, THEY NEED TO TAKE CARE OF THEIR CUSTOMERS BETTER!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
5/30/2013 1:51:34 PM
 

"Cheaper but Rude"
from ONTARIO says:
Review:
the people on the phone are all RUDE. Its cheaper then payday loans and its longer but wow these Mogo people are so rude.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
5/24/2013 11:00:00 AM
 

"Friendly"
from Canada says:
Review:
Flexibility,cheaper rates, and this comes with friendly Customer Services. I would rate above average thus far.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
5/22/2013 6:15:14 PM
 

"Smooth 2 Week Loan"
from ottawa says:
Review:
my girlfriend borrowed 750$ from mogo to buy a laptop.....everything went smooth and we paid back the loan 2 weeks later...when used the right way mogo rocks...so much cheaper then the other guys.... i do find you have to wait on the phone a tad too long to get thru to them but i am sure they are extremely busy....
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
5/22/2013 7:35:03 AM
 

"Won't use again"
from Ontario says:
Review:
I found this company terrible. Followed all their instructions, got their confirmation emails and then called back to see what was taking so long only for them to tell me they didn't have an application on file for me and I would have to wait 24hrs to apply again because of some stupid lockout . The reps have no customer service skills and are clueless. Will not use again or ever recommend.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
5/7/2013 4:22:51 PM
 

"Horrible Customer Service"
from Toronto says:
Review:
It was a horrible experience, I submitted an online application midnight of May 2, took some nice screenshots of my bank statements with all the information and sent in the email. I was considering Mogo for awhile due to their 1 hour service and possibly cheaper rates that they claim but that was all a lie! I've also used money mart from before and was going to use them now, I called the following business day which was a Thursday at 10:45 am, and I was on my 15 minute break at work, I was on hold for almost 10-15 minutes, and spoke to a female customer service rep that I'm looking to forward the account, as I have not received the loan yet. She told me that they have a ton of emails on queue and she needs to review it so I was on hold for another 5 minutes until she found it. I did everything as they asked and they have verified all the information on my bank statement. But the last process that they required was to still call my employer and speak to me at work?? I told the lady that I work at a call center and I cannot take personal phone calls at work! Isn't the banking information enough? So they weren't able to verify it and I said I'll call back. I then called back 4 hours after spoke to an agent after being put on hold for like 20 minutes only to say that the agent who handles the loans is on lunch! I told them I'll just cancel the loan and this was the worst choice I've made and I could just go to money mart and get it right away and so I did. DO NOT USE THIS LOAN COMPANY! Terrible service, loan process does not take an hour and they are so backed up by all the emails they have and cannot keep their service levels up.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
5/2/2013 4:17:21 PM
 

"A disaster"
from Got an Online Line says:
Review:
My experience with Mogo money was disaster, Mogo money took out more than double of loan I took from my account. Mogo money keep withdrawing different amount from my account because they have my account information. Mogo money is a very bad company, is better to stay without money and go hungry than to borrow money from Mogo money. Mogo money is bad loan company in our society . I regret, regret, regret doing business with Mogo money, the worst mistake of my life & also my nightmare.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
5/1/2013 5:04:16 PM
 

"They are Slow!"
from toronto says:
Review:
This has to be the slowest and worst customer service I've ever dealt with. They say the can fund a loan in hour its been 4 days and still haven't gotten any money or any correspondence from Mogo as to when the funds would be deposited. There's no online customer account that you can look at and it takes more than a half an hour to speak with someone in customer service. if you want a fast and customer friendly online loan use Zippy Cash. You speak with customer service right away, they send you email updates and they make it easy to repay your loan early. After this loan in complete I WILL NOT USE MOGO AGAIN! Total waste of time and the worst service
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
4/17/2013 5:05:58 AM
 

"Terrible Collections Agents"
from Mississauga says:
Review:
The most ignorant people I have ever dealt with! They don't care about there customers just the money you owe them. Theirs a certain collection agent who should be reported to the BBB or for that matter the police. Talk about verbal abuse, god help her husband!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
4/10/2013 12:23:50 AM
 

"A Good Lender"
from ottawa says:
Review:
so about 3 weeks ago i needed to borrow 1000$ so i could buy a 51 inch HD 3D TV that was on sale.... the sale ended before my payday so I got in touch with MOGO and arranged a 1000$ loan on a sunday... An hour or so later it was in my account and I bought the TV..... That was a sunday.... the following friday i paid back the 1000$ ...no fuss no muss easy as 123....... Great Service... In fact I now have a MOGO prepaid Visa card.... The people that fell like they got a raw deal are the people who dont understand what this service is....you borrow money,,,you agree to pay it back in 2 weeks,,,you pay it back in 2 weeks,,,end of story,,,,if you didn't do it the way its is intended then its your own fault... dont trash the loaner,,,look in the mirror and tale responsibility for your own actions!!!!!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
4/9/2013 7:55:02 PM
 

"Slow cash...."
from Calgary says:
Review:
They guarantee loans in your bank account within 1 hour. 5 hours later and still waiting! The whole reason for applying was because of the quick promise. Had I known I could have driven to a lending location and already had cash. Calling their customer service gets you only the excuse that they were busy. Will not use again.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
4/4/2013 3:46:57 PM
 

"Mogo Employee Comment"
from Toronto says:
Review:
Hi all, my name is Cory from the mogo customer loyalty team and we hate to see anyone have a bad experience, unfortunately sometimes this happens and that’s why we’re here. Our goal is to do whatever we can to make it right and win you back. We pride ourselves on having the best value proposition of any short term loan in Canada, every customer that is approved online is able to borrow $200 for under $4 bi-weekly, that’s 90% cheaper than a payday loan. We’ve also just launched the first free designer prepaid visa card with no monthly fee. Others are charging as much as $20 for the card and $15 a month in fees, our fee for both is $0, that’s right zero. You’re also covered by our 30 day money back guarantee on all our products, no questions asked. We really do value any feedback that can help us improve our services and experience, we hope you’ll give us a chance to win you back!
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
3/15/2013 2:07:23 PM
 

"Happy with Mogo"
from Pickering says:
Review:
I have been using MOGO for the past five years and I am very happy with their service.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
Yes I would
3/15/2013 6:41:27 AM
 

"Borrowed $1200"
from toronto says:
Review:
I borrow from mogo on line for $1,200 I am unable to pay off this amount in advance i call and try to get them to make payment arrangement with me with out paying the $200.00 i am been charge in interest each pay day the refuse to do so so i am stuck with them calling and emailing me 3 times daily.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
3/3/2013 11:15:12 AM
 

"Found them rude"
from Calgary says:
Review:
they are rude rude rude they call you at work yelling and screaming.my payment went NSF so i repaid it by online banking they told me to pay it by a quick collect form but you have to pay the fee to send it and i could not do that they say we are going to go to court send papers to your work. the managers are the worst. no feelings for anyone i would hate to have them as a parent.they got there money buy still tried to take it out again anyway.i think they need to be reported to the BBB or right they are not listed with them.so maybe service canada would like to hear what a bunch of beep beep they are.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
2/4/2013 8:46:16 PM
 

"My Complaint"
from Calgary says:
Review:
No I would never use them again I have put in a complaint to service canada about them.
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
2/2/2013 2:23:54 PM
 

"Just OK"
Jen from Online says:
Review:
The rates were higher than I ads. Don't want to use them again
Would you use Mogo Money again?:
No I would not
1/20/2013 11:03:34 AM