canPayday.ca: Payday Loans in Canada Resources

Money Mart Canada : Reviews and Offers

Established in the province of Alberta in 1982, Money Mart is one of the older, established quick loan and payday loan providers. The company currently provides loans through 412 offices across Canada as well as over 50 franchises. Money Mart operates the entire network from its headquarters in Victoria, British Columbia. The company operates under the National Money Mart Company along with EasyTax.

The company operates quick loans and payday loans throughout Canada as well as the U.S. Loans are reviewed and provided through both face-to-face offices as well as through online loan applications with funds transferred electronically to a borrower’s bank account. However, the online option is only available in three provinces: Alberta, Nova Scotia and Ontario. For other provinces borrowers can prepare their application online and it will be approved once an office visit is completed in a company store. Loans are charged at a rate fee of $22.75 per $100 lent.

The company was sued in a class action in 2003 which settled in June 2009. $43 million in debts were forgiven and $27.5 million in damages were paid as well as $30 million towards future loan coupons. Money Mart was sued again in March 2010 which was also settled for $24.75 million.


Add your Review of Money Mart

Share your compliments or Money Mart complaints.

Would you use Money Mart again?
Review your experience with Money Mart:

Reader Reviews of Money Mart


"Settlement Details"
from Vancouver says:
Review:
Just a comment on the last review (from Victoria). Straight BS. The word is SETTLEMENT VOUCHER, for anyone who has got one knows -not "refund". Payday Loans x 15 years = $525?? If true, then this person's loans were so insignificant that this review should be discarded. It sounds like either an employee review OR (more accurately) a customer that's been happy with the service that Money Mart offers but doesn't feel his review is reassuring enough without fabricating claims of refund. A $525 Settlement Voucher for over 15 years of Payday Loans, doesn't add up. Either way, BS review. Moving on.. Money Mart is giving people a hard time cashing these Vouchers. I know, I am one of them. Claims of transaction credits when I first walked in to cash. Then given a 800 number to call, which deferred to an email address. Email responses ask for a contact number to reach me at to "discuss" (email responses would leave documented evidence). Bottom line... IF YOU HAD A DEBT (Payday Loan) WITH MONEY MART BEFORE THE CLASS ACTION SUIT, YOUR NET SETTLEMENT AMOUNT REFLECTS THAT DEBT PAID AND WHAT MONEY MART OWES YOU! (MINUS ANY TRANSACTION CREDITS (which are NOT Payday Loans)) If this applies to you, and Money Mart is refusing or claiming u still owe them money, contact CONSUMER PROTECTION BC and file a complaint that they are NOT abiding by the terms of the court order. Court order link can be found here ----> http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1271625/000095012310047201/w78418exv10w1.htm Scroll down to section 5.12 SETTLEMENT CLASS MEMBERS You don't need to be a lawyer to decipher that. http://www.consumerprotectionbc.ca/consumers-alias/resolving-problems/submitting-a-written-complaint-to-us Money Mart rep's on the Settlement 800 number and email response lines are prepared to counter any inquiries, so don't waste your time with multiple phone calls if you do not get resolution immediately. Don't waste your precious time with Money Marts inquiry hotlines. File your complaints with the Consumer Protection Agency and let them (and their authority) resolve your complaint. Review was wrote on June 25, 2014, so technically, if the review WAS true, a voucher would have been issued, but the reviewer would not have been able to redeem until July 1, 2014 (as ALL of us true Settlement Class members know!).
Would you use Money Mart again?:
No I would not
10/10/2014 2:40:33 AM
 

"Use the class action!"
from Victoria says:
Review:
Everyone who posted a negative review below are frickin' liars. I've used Money Mart for advance Payday Loans for over fifteen years and never had an issue. As far as the class action is concerned, naturally MM would not contact its customers; I found-out about the class action on my own and was refunded $525.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
Yes I would
6/25/2014 6:02:52 PM
 

"Friendly"
from Sault Ste. Marie says:
Review:
I have had no issues with Money Mart. I've found their staff friendly and helpful. The only thing is once you get in the cycle using them all the time, it is very hard to get out of it, which is my problem, not theirs.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
Yes I would
6/1/2014 9:05:54 AM
 

"Not notified of Lawsuit"
from Hamilton, Ontario says:
Review:
i was never notified of Money Mart's action suit settlement deadline of April 2/14. I was informed only last month that there were no updates and the only way to get my credits was to continue to cash advance!! I went in today and was informed their is no recourse and settlements have been finalized. I did not receive a letter nor a phone call advising of the deadline from corporate. Nor did the local branch advise me of the deadline. Honest business management would be to review your clients and forward information. It is once again, a major corporate office taking money from the people and pocketing for their own financial wealth. My story will go to the local paper and the better business bureau.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
Yes I would
4/12/2014 2:30:31 PM
 

"Won't return your call"
from Toronto says:
Review:
Terrible service at store 1820 from the manager - Kennedy & Eglinton. Been sending money back home every month at the same location for over 2 years with no issues. Kept asking personal questions that he did not tell me were a requirement based off the increased amount of money I was sending. Instead of explaining that it was a requirement he got very rude and when I asked for someone else to serve me he walked off and told the other associates not to serve me. I was refused service. Contacted head office twice and over a week and no one has returned my call.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
No I would not
3/29/2014 11:57:59 AM
 

"Really unhappy"
from Toronto says:
Review:
it sucks so bad i got so screwed over and i hate them never ever go there it is a useless place and all of there employes suck
Would you use Money Mart again?:
No I would not
3/4/2014 5:58:09 PM
 

"Expensive Bill"
from calgary says:
Review:
Used money mart back in '03 for tax refund. Didnt go there again till '05-ish to cash a $50 cheque which they held onto and insisted i owe them the tax refund money. Didnt think much of it till recently applying for an online loan where i apparently "still have an outstanding loan" ... news to me.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
No I would not
12/16/2013 3:39:34 PM
 

"Try it"
Try it from says:
Review:
I just want to try it I never hear this loan before.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
Yes I would
11/15/2013 6:36:34 AM
 

"Rude Service"
from Kingston says:
Review:
Mr and my husband went to money mart at Address: 208 Division St, Kingston, ON K7K 3Z1 . The man that was serving us was rude and sit and laughing and smirking at us when we tried to explain about the pre paid card we had bought from them the night before did not work. They refuse to give you your money back because the package was opened, we didnt know the card wasnt going to work until after we opened it to get the card out to use it. As we were leaving the store the man who was serving us started yelling at us to go to the bank to get our money off the card, you can not take cash off the card! Then he said his supervisor told him to tell us to come back the next day!!!!! All we wanted was our $75 we paid for the card back they flat out and refused!
Would you use Money Mart again?:
No I would not
7/12/2013 5:54:43 AM
 

"Bad Coupon"
from Woodbridge, Ontario says:
Review:
Money mart is the most horrible, did my taxes there in 2013 and they F$%&ked up 3 times, also got a coupon saying with a loan that i would not have to pay interest but they said it was not valid. When I called the Money Mart head office I was on hold for 30 min and when I was able to talk to someone they told me that the person on cash did not know the rules and my coupon was not valid. STAY CLEAR OF MONEY MART!!!! THEY ARE HORRIBLE
Would you use Money Mart again?:
No I would not
4/17/2013 2:20:02 PM
 

"Good for cheque cashing"
from Toronto says:
Review:
The staff can be rude, and the lines are long, but I use them to cash my check whenever I am in a hurry. Just used them for this weeks pay since i don't have a bank account anymore.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
Yes I would
1/1/2013 10:14:45 PM
 

"Honest and fast"
Colin from Calgary says:
Review:
Good service, staff was helpful. Used the store to cash a cheque for $1200, fees were low.
Would you use Money Mart again?:
Yes I would
11/3/2012 12:00:00 AM